Aids Memorial Quilt


This weekend saw the Aids Memorial Quilt in Asheville for the first time. I volunteered to photograph the raising of the quilts and opening ceremonies. I’ll admit that since I haven’t done much of this type of work before, and coupled with a new camera and lens to work with, I was lost in the photography bits when I first got there. But spending time around the panels, viewing the memorials brought back all the emotions of this devasting disease and it’s affect on us. I soon found myself wondering how much we have really advanced since then. AIDs is still affecting us, only now it’s affecting heterosexual women, particularly Black women. The nature of the diesease is so much a social experience, first among gay men, now among Black women. And still too often seen as something that affects “them.” As if they deserved it.

The exhibition runs through Dec 1st at Pack Place.

Leave a Reply

