Year In Review… a long post

2009… a move across country, my first full frame digital, economic woes, a fourth kidney stone.  Some new acquaintances, missing friends.

My thought was to pick the 10 best images I took in 2009 and share them in this post.  But 2009 was also the year of the technological meltdown.  Literally.  Twice. First my laptop’s motherboard melted, then my large monitor for the desktop melted.  Currently, the desktop’s images are  not accessable.  So much for the best of.  So, instead, I’m going to share some images that, for me, were pivotal moments behind the lens.

Geometric Abstracts

On my way to visit family I stopped by a couple of old, late 1800’s coastal batteries on the Olympic Peninsula.  I had taken a few abstracts of human built features a couple of years ago, but really hadn’t made it a point of focus.  The day I visited Fort Worden, was crystal clear.  I had, in my mind, setup expectations of shooting landscapes scenes.  But after I saw what showed on the back of the screen after a few shoot’s, I spent the next 3 hours combing the site for compelling geometry.  It’s really the first time I set out to use the full set of compositional tools… texture, light, shadow, shape, form and so forth.  I surprised myself, which is always a good thing!

Another face!  I’ll need to do a whole series of posts on faces and features that seem to appear in my images.  This one, like several of them, didn’t appear until later.  Maybe that you don’t even see it.   But I do.  And I celebrate my child like way of seeing things once again in this image.  It was a cloudy day, which helped by shaping the shadows while evenly lighting the whole rock.

This one really was the opposite in that I knew, in my mind’s “eye” what it would look like before I took the shot.  Another overcast day muted the shadows and illuminated the scene with soft light.  The tones just really played well across the scene.  I liked the sense of abandonment in the old bridge being slowly grown over yet conveying a sense of desire to explore.

I passed this incomplete building project on my bike ride route.  After passing it several times, I just had to stop and try with the camera to convey a sense of what I felt.  This image, to me, did it.  Before photography, I spent a decade studying and worry about our impacts on the natural world.  I guess, now, that I’m just going to attempt, where and when I find it, to use an image to convey what I feel.

Bend the rules, break them.  This image, into a low angle sun conveyed, for me, the sense of mother and son heading off into the unknown together, but in a gentle soft way.  All the highlights on the left side are blown out… and I say, so what.

Opportunity knocks… or as other photographers say… capture the decisive moment.  I knew that Gazzum Lake was going to freeze enough to walk on, so I went there 3 days in a row and came away with hundreds of great shots, some of which I shared on recent posts.  I also was able to get a bit of paid work from them.  So, besides capturing a fun shot of her having a great time on the lake, I also was able to use it in a print for her owner for an Xmas gift.  And an image I just plain like to look at.

With this image, I broke my own rule.  Rather than try to make the covered bridge your typical one of a “bridge spanning pretty river landscape” I decided, once I saw the light and shadows inside, to do more of the geometry type shot.  I really liked how this one turned out!

Work with the tools you have.  As much as I’d like next to get a good telephoto zoom with fast autofocus, sometimes, an old piece of junk garage sale lens will work.  Here, the old lens rendered the landscape very soft and with colors that were muted and somewhat impressionist.  While I was shooting I was frustrated that I wasn’t getting sharp pictures.  Later, when viewing I had to laugh at myself.  Many of the images that day really pleased me!

A couple of more “a hahs” from old lenses.

Thank you for viewing!

Leave a Reply

