Birch Bark Canoe

I’m starting here, with this image, as my thoughts are that by giving it a title, I’ve revealed a lot already.

I took this image in my first year of photography, and on the first day with a dSLR, the d200.  The cropping and framing were constrained by the piece of bark imbedded in the sand  surrounded by grass so that I had only a small area to work with to exclude them.

Like many of the similar images, I was first focused on the bark, and only as I was framing did the “sense” of something more in the shadow appear.

So, too clever?  I’m curious what you think.

Leave a Reply

